Getting your definitions into Google.

Getting your definitions in Google

I just finished reading a post by Esteban Panzera over at SEOmoz.org about how to get your definitions in Google. I thought this was a very good topic and is something I use at Be Seen Web Design as a way to set our site up as an authority.

First I created a glossary of terms, that are used in SEO, web design, internet and social media. Over time, I have continued to add to the glossary and we have been getting traffic from the terms. In my eyes a good idea if you site can work with having a glossary.

How do I know I am getting traffic?

It’s easy I see many of my keywords are define:ftp or define:absolute link, in Google Analytics. On average per month, I get about 400 visits and many more page views from this. The question you should be asking yourself though is are these people who are visiting actually converting to visitors. Honestly, only one of my definitions is actually converting to visitors and with that 33 % are converting. I can also tell you that the people who are coming into these pages are viewing 2 or 3 pages on my site and my bounce rate is actually lower on these pages.

Is it worth it?

From my perceptive – yes – simply because I am creating unique content, something people can link to, and set myself up as an authority. If my only goal was to convert visitors, it might not be worth it.

How can this help you the small business owner?

By creating a glossary, you can set your site up as an authority in both visitors eyes and SE’s eyes and you can gain some traffic.

So it’s a good idea, how the heck do I do it?

Well Esteban Panzera over at SEOmoz.org gives us 11 tips. I have made my own comments as well in italics.

  1. First, put the word to define, followed by the definition. I don’t actually do this and don’t have any facts to prove or disprove if this works.
  2. Make the definition unique. This is a very important factor, if you definition is the same as everyone else’s it won’t appear. So don’t bother copying the definition from someone else.
  3. < p >, < tr >, < li >, and < br > are treated as separators between definitions.
  4. Put the keyword to define and the definition inside the same paragraph. These have to be the only words in that paragraph, or use < dl >, < dt > and < dd > to specify lists of definitions; these are HTML tags. I use a <p> tag for both the keyword and the definition and I rank well.
  5. Pagerank of the document where you list the definition will make your definition rank higher than others. This is most very likely true as Google does, use Page rank as a ranking factor.
  6. Differentiate the keyword to define by using < b >, < strong >, < em >, < code >, or < span >. I use this tactic as well and seems to work.
  7. Separate the keyword to define from the definition with a : or -. This is not necessary to rank well – I am going to do a little experiment and will let you know if this helps.
  8. Use the words glossary, definitions, dictionary, what is, and canonical forms of those as Title tag, heading tags, and on the URL.
  9. Remember to put more than 5 definitions per page; if not, they will be discarded. I am not sure this is true but a page with only 5 definitions would not have much content therefore probably wouldn’t rank well anyhow.
  10. Don’t start a definition with the word “see” or it will get discarded.
  11. Don’t capitalize the first letter of the definition. I use this every time as my definitions are full sentences and don’t see any ill effects if you don’t use this.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

